A social media app called LYKA is fast gaining popularity in the Philippines due to its enticing rewards system. Some users, however, have expressed concern about their privacy and want to delete their LYKA accounts. So how do you deactivate or delete your LYKA account permanently?
LYKA is a “free social media platform that allows users to connect, discover new things, and share their interests with other individuals.” LYKA offers a “Digital Point System” that rewards users with “gems” for engagement on the platform. These gems can then be exchanged for items with their partner’s stores, redeemed for gifts at the LYKA MALL, and shared with friends or followers.
With such attractive rewards systems, it’s no wonder that LYKA has gained a massive userbase in the Philippines in just a few months. It also helps that the Hong Kong-based company has hired several local celebrities and influencers to promote and endorse the new app. But even without celebrity endorsement, the promise of exciting rewards proved to be attractive enough for many Filipinos to download and install the app. After all, who doesn’t want to receive free items and goodies just by posting photos and liking posts?
Nevertheless, some users are keen to delete their LYKA accounts due to privacy concerns. This was after a Reddit user revealed that the popular social media app was accessing the phone camera in the background. In response, LYKA released a statement saying that it was an iOS 14 bug that they have already fixed.
If you don’t feel comfortable with sharing your data with LYKA or if you don’t trust the company enough, you can take steps to delete your LYKA account and optionally, request your personal data to be removed from their servers.
How to Delete Your LYKA Account
At the moment, LYKA doesn’t provide an option to delete or deactivate your account. Despite that, you can try to limit LYKA’s access to your personal data and uninstall the LYKA app so that it can no longer track your activities.
· Unlink Your Facebook Account
Follow this step if you signed up or logged in using your Facebook account. Otherwise, proceed to the next step.
What we’ll do is remove LYKA’s access to your Facebook information. Removing or unlinking LYKA from your Facebook account will not delete any information that you previously shared with LYKA, but will revoke its access to private information that you’ll add in the future.
Select Logged in with Facebook.
You will see a list of apps and websites that you’ve used Facebook to log in to. Under the Active tab, select Lyka by checking the box next to it.
After you’ve checked the box, tap the Remove button.
Tap Remove to unlink LYKA from your Facebook account.
· Change Your Profile Information
Open the LYKA app and go to the Profile tab. Tap Edit Profile on your profile screen.
Under Account Information, select the information that you want to change, such as your name, email address, and birthdate. Changing your email and phone requires verification, so you may want to use a throwaway email or mobile number for this purpose.
You can also replace your profile photo with a picture that doesn’t show your face. After editing your profile information, click Save Changes.
· Uninstall the LYKA App
The final step is to uninstall the LYKA app from your phone. This will not automatically delete your LYKA account, but it will prevent you from using the app. After four months of inactivity, your account will be deleted automatically by the system.
Deleting your LYKA account may seem impossible due to the lack of a feature to delete or deactivate your account. But you don’t have to jump through hoops just to delete your LYKA account. Follow the steps to deactivate or delete your LYKA account and you will no longer have to worry about your personal data and privacy